Encouragement for Leaders

leadership

Good leaders are not scared…..

Good leaders always know what to do at the right time and never make mistakes…..

Good leaders always have a vision for what’s next……

Good leaders are trendy….

Right?!

No way!

In fact,  the exact opposite is true.

The Bible is full of leaders that made mistakes, showed points of fear in their lives, and went through times when they prayed that God would give them vision and direction. I included #4 because I’ve heard  many people feel they have to dress a certain way to be effective or successful. A friend of mine addressed this with Doug Fields (Youth Director at Saddleback Church and author of Purpose Driven Youth Ministry) and Doug’s response indicated that the most effective ministers he knew where middle-aged, over weight, and wore polo shirts. Go figure!

You’ve probably heard this before……”God doesn’t call the equipped, He equips the called.” Yeah you are shaking your head right now…….aren’t you :).

It’s true though. Most of the leaders in The Bible didn’t ask to be a leader or grow up hoping to be a leader. They were handed, or called to,  a responsibility and tried to do what God asked them to do. You really can’t expect more out of leader than that. Do what God tells you to do.

Personally, I have almost everything going against me and my successful leadership except one thing and it’s the one thing that matters more than any other thing……..God.

I didn’t grow up in the church. I’ve never been asked to lead a large group of people. I started two degrees and only finished half of each (wish I could combine them). I don’t dress trendy, I get scared, I’ve gone through periods when I didn’t have vision but I can’t deny the calling that God has placed on my life. I can’t begin to tell you all of the things that God has worked out to pave the way for me to do His will (Romans 8:28).  All I can do is remain faithful to Him and go where he sends me. It doesn’t matter what you look like or what your skills are. God has a purpose for you. Maybe He isn’t calling you to plant a church outside of town and grow it into a mega church but He IS calling you to do something.

Leaders have weaknesses because we are human. Leaders MUST rely on God. We don’t have to fear because God can do anything but the fact is, we will fear…..in our weakness. The cool thing is that God makes us stronger and we will fear less the more we walk with him. Our weakness brings us closer to God because our weakness forces us to rely on God.

2 Corinthians 12:9

But he said to me, “My grace is sufficient for you, for my power is made perfect in weakness.” Therefore I will boast all the more gladly about my weaknesses, so that Christ’s power may rest on me.

 

Leaders- the point here is this. If you have fear, don’t dress a certain way, go through times without clear vision, or make a mistake……it doesn’t make you a bad leader. It makes you an honest human. A bad leader ignores God’s direction.  Don’t beat yourself up. Learn from your mistakes and allow your weaknesses to draw you closer to God. That’s how you turn a weakness into a strength.

Now get back out there and change the world…….if God tells you to 🙂

 

For Him,

Brian

 

 

One thought on “Encouragement for Leaders

  1. Thanks! I’m not a leader, and I’m not called to be one, but the things you shared work for me too! T

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

