Persevere

hard work

Over the weekend I had a rare opportunity to go out to my garage and do some wood working. This is a relatively new hobby that I’ve picked up with the help of my Dad. He has been wood working for several years and is able to make beautiful things. As I started working I noticed that I had an old hand plane laying in a drawer in my garage. If you don’t know what a hand plane is, it’s a tool with a blade on it that when ran across a board, it will level any high points in the board to make it a uniform thickness.

Here is what it looks like…

 

plane

It’s pretty old and has seen better days. I decided that I was going to clean it up. I took the blade out and started the sharpening process on several different grits of sandpaper…..2 hours later, it was looking good but still needed more work. My hand was sore from holding the blade in the same position for that long and I was sweating profusely because it was about 95 degrees outside.  I finally got it to a point where it could be used and I put the plane back together and ran it across a board. it was great! Long thin shavings of wood scraped off the board like butter and in no time, the board was perfectly flat. I felt a great sense of accomplishment. It took what seemed like forever and it was hard and frustrating but the end result was so worth it.

 

Just this week the endurance swimmer Diana Nyad, 64,  became the first person to swim the 110 miles from Cuba to Key West, Florida without a shark cage. 64 years old!!!! The next time I hear some one say they are too old…..

If you read her story, she failed several times before finally succeeding. At the end of her 110 mile swim, Diana was badly sunburnt, her lips were swollen and bruised and she had to receive medical attention upon her arrival. If you ask her if it was worth it, she wouldn’t hesitate to say yes.

 

The Christian walk is hard. Sometimes we are met with failures but you need to be encouraged because the final victory is already won! Jesus Christ has already made a way! We need to persevere and not let Satan get a foot hold in our lives.  Think of your life as one long working project. You are doing what God has called you to do and one day He will call you home. You will look back on your life and say “It was worth it.” Heaven is your reward.

This is what the Bible says about perseverance…

James 1:12

Blessed is the man who remains steadfast under trial, for when he has stood the test he will receive the crown of life, which God has promised to those who love him.

 

Romans 5:3-5

More than that, we rejoice in our sufferings, knowing that suffering produces endurance, and endurance produces character, and character produces hope, and hope does not put us to shame, because God’s love has been poured into our hearts through the Holy Spirit who has been given to us.

 

Galatians 6:9

And let us not grow weary of doing good, for in due season we will reap, if we do not give up.

 

Keep up the fight brothers and sisters!

Brian

// <![CDATA[
<div id="” class=”_mp3rocket_overlay_style” style=”left: ; top: ; width: ; height: “>

// ]]>

