The Sensibility of Responsibility

responsibility.1

Galatians 6:2-5

Carry each other’s burdens, and in this way you will fulfill the law of Christ. If anyone thinks they are something when they are not, they deceive themselves.

Each one should test their own actions. Then they can take pride in themselves alone, without comparing themselves to someone else, for each one should carry their own load.

When I think of a team, I think of a group of people carrying each others burdens for the purpose of accomplishing a task or goal. A team helps each other out when they are falling behind or encourages one another to push forward.

When I was in the police academy, we would go on “short” runs in the mornings to start our day. I’m not a runner at all and to them, short meant about 4-5 miles. Our definitions of a short run did match up at all. I did my best to not fall behind but there were days (like the day I ate McDonald’s before a run) where I just couldn’t keep up. My friends would slow down to my pace and encourage me to keep going. They understood the value of a team and they knew it wasn’t about who finished first, it was about finishing together. But even though my friends encouraged me and ran at my pace, I still had to run. I had to finish myself, and they couldn’t carry me. I had to take responsibility for myself and finish.

Whatever your calling is, whatever job you have in God’s kingdom, it’s important. For some, it’s eternity important. If just one of us shows up for rehearsal or worship and did not take responsibility for their part, everyone suffers. The mission suffers……the kingdom suffers (Whoa that’s pretty heavy….I know).  We have been called to make disciples of Jesus Christ. Jesus didn’t say that we could only use words. Some of us have gifts and talents that don’t use words at all and that is how we serve God. That’s great! God uses all of us as a team…..a unified body…..to deliver his message. We are a team!

 

Luke 12:48

“…From everyone who has been given much, much will be demanded; and from the one who has been entrusted with much, much more will be asked.”

Take responsibility for your gifts and talents because God expects you to do something with them (see Luke 12:48 above). Use them to boost the team and teammates.

 

Carry each others burdens as well as your own because we are a team and the world is counting on us.

 

How can you be more responsible with your gifts and talents?

Are you being responsible to your team? Do you arrive on time? Do you arrive prepared? Do you have a good attitude?

Are you being responsible to yourself? serving where you are not called/passionate? going through the motions? taking appropriate down time?

See an area that needs improvement? Have you offered to help improve it? Maybe God is calling YOU!

 

Thank you world changers!

Brian

 

// <![CDATA[
<div id="” class=”_mp3rocket_overlay_style” style=”left: ; top: ; width: ; height: “>

// ]]>

