The Skinny on Excellence

Excellence

What’s the big deal with excellence? Can’t we all just show up to church and do whatever we want if we are doing it for God’s glory? I don’t have time to practice or research my craft. The leader of “insert ministry” wants everything to be absolutely perfect and I don’t think it’s that big of a deal.

Sound familiar?

We all have busy lives. We all have non-church related pursuits. We all can’t live at church everyday. We all have families, jobs, hobbies, ambitions, kid’s stuff, etc, etc…. and then there is all of the stuff we do at church on top of it all. Our lives become a blur as we live by the clock racing to the next thing and before you know it, the first year of your child’s life has gone by and you wonder where it went (Asher just turned one by the way ).

I’m with you. I feel it.

As much as we would like to use the busy-ness of our lives as an excuse to give God our “second best” we have to persevere. God deserves our “first fruits.” We have to make time to multiply the gifts that God has given us. We can’t stay stagnate. Let’s first look at the parable of the talents.

                 “Again, it will be like a man going on a journey, who called his servants and entrusted his property to them.  To one he gave five talents of money, to another two talents, and to another one talent, each according to his ability.  Then he went on his journey.  The man who had received the five talents went at once and put his money to work and gained five more.  So also, the one with the two talents gained two more.  But the man who had received the one talent went off, dug a hole in the ground and hid his master’s money.

After a long time, the master of those servants returned and settled accounts with them.  The man who had received the five talents brought the other five.  “Master,” he said, “you entrusted me with five talents.  See, I have gained five more.”

His master replied, “Well done, good and faithful servant!  You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things.  Come and share your master’s happiness!”

The man with the two talents also came.  “Master,” he said, “you entrusted me with two talents; see, I have gained two more.”

His master replied, “Well done, good and faithful servant!  You have been faithful with a few things; I will put you in charge of many things.  Come and share your master’s happiness!”

Then the man who had received the one talent came.  “Master,” he said, “I knew that you are a hard man, harvesting where you have not sown and gathering where you have not scattered seed.  So I was afraid and went out and hid your talent in the ground.  See, here is what belongs to you.”

His master replied, “You wicked, lazy servant!  So you knew that I harvest where I have not sown and gather where I have not scattered seed?  Well then, you should have put my money on deposit with the bankers, so that when I returned I would have received it back with interest.

“Take the talent from him and give it to the one who has the ten talents.  For everyone who has will be given more, and he will have an abundance.  Whoever does not have, even what he has will be taken from him.  And throw that worthless servant outside, into the darkness, where there will be weeping and gnashing of teeth.”

– Matthew 25:14-30 (NIV)

To tell you the truth, this passage scares the snot out of me. I don’t want to be the “wicked, lazy servant”. God has given me a “talent” for music. I have been taking guitar lessons for months trying to be better so that I can offer better music to God in worship. I read books and blogs about leadership so that I can faithfully multiply the ministries that I have been entrusted with but still, I get tired and worn out. I have to keep myself moving forward so I don’t get complacent.

Don’t get me wrong. You need some down-time to recharge the batteries. You need quiet time with the Lord. YOU NEED VACATION!!!!! Christianity is a marathon, not a sprint. pace yourself wisely. At the same time pray about your gifts and how you can grow and multiply them for God’s glory.

Check out these other scriptures, just to name a few, in regards to excellence.

Daniel 6:3 ESV

Then this Daniel became distinguished above all the other presidents and satraps, because an excellent spirit was in him. And the king planned to set him over the whole kingdom.

1 Chronicles 25:7 NAS

7Their number who were trained in singing to the LORD, with their relatives, all who were skillful, was 288.

Philipians 4:8 ESV

Finally, brothers, whatever is true, whatever is honorable, whatever is just, whatever is pure, whatever is lovely, whatever is commendable, if there is any excellence, if there is anything worthy of praise, think about these things.

Excellence is a big deal because it is a reflection of the position of your heart. Let’s help each other persevere and give God our best.

What “talent” has God given you?

How are you multiplying it for His glory?

Are you ignoring a “talent”?

Let’s keep the discussion going. Tell you me your thoughts about excellence. Looking forward to it!

Brian

// <![CDATA[
<div id="” class=”_mp3rocket_overlay_style” style=”left: ; top: ; width: ; height: “>

// ]]>

